Jackson County, Missouri

Commissioners

Howard Lotven, Chairman Roger Davis Mary Shannon Keith Curnutt Jacquelyn Eidson



Ethics, Human Relations, and Citizen Complaints Commission Jackson County Courthouse 415 E. 12th Street Kansas City, Missouri 64106 (816)881-3670

Meeting Minutes Thursday, February 15th, 2024, at 5:15p.m. Second Regular Meeting

1. Call to Order

Howard Lotven, Chairman, called the second regular meeting of the Ethics, Human Relations, and Citizen Complaints Commission to order.

2. Roll Call

Present 4 – Howard Lotven, Mary Shannon, Roger Davis, Keith Curnutt

Absent NONE

Excused 1 – Jacquelyn Eidson

A motion was made by Roger Davis, seconded by Mary Shannon to excuse Jacquelyn Eidson from the February 15th, 2024, regular meeting. The motion passed with a voice vote.

3. Introduction of OEHRCC Staff and Guests

Present – Director Chris Crawford, Complaint Officer Anita Mackerel, Administrative Assistant Alexandrea Gold-Barnes

4. Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Roger Davis, seconded by Keith Curnutt to approve the January 2024 meeting minutes. The motion passed with a voice vote.

5. Director's Report

Assessment

Traffic and lines at the Truman Courthouse in Independence have decreased from the amount in November-December 2023, but they are still significant. The narrow hallways at the Truman Courthouse are filled with people waiting to handle personal property business such as declarations. This has caused some issues for visitors trying to do business with other departments in the building. The administration plans to continue using only the Truman Courthouse for personal property business moving forward. The crowds, lines, and wait times are expected to increase with the initial property declaration deadline in March and the final declaration deadline in May.

Board of Equalization (BOE)

During the BOE's monthly procedural meeting this month, the board discussed several frustrations with the administration. The administration has brought back some of the hearing officers to help process appeals and reach stipulation agreements, but the board is still without a chair and currently only has two of the three required members. Board members also expressed frustration that they have not been paid for the work they've been doing since September 2023 and encouraged the administration to continue working with the legislature to get the funds appropriated for their compensation. The board also stated that they are having a hard time getting representatives from the taxing jurisdictions to attend meetings and hearings.

Complaint Numbering Format

OEHRCC will begin using a new format for complaint numbering/tracking in 2024. Beginning with January's complaints, commissioners will notice that the complaints will be numbered "24001, 24002, 24003..." instead of "1, 2, 3..." This will allow the office to track complaints more accurately in the future. 2023 Complaints Overview OEHRCC handled 202 official complaints in 2023, an increase of 67% from 66 in 2022. The departments with the most complaints were assessment (90.5), corrections/JCDC (28), and collections (14.5). There were 29 non-county complaints relating to community groups, neighbors, and private businesses.

Case Summaries

Anita Mackerel presented case summaries #24001-24017 and there were no questions or comments.

A motion was made by Keith Curnutt, seconded by Roger Davis to approve the director's report with the case summaries. The motion passed with a voice vote.

6. New Business

NONE

7. Unfinished Business

NONE

8. Public Comments

NONE

9. Closed Session Pursuant to RSMo 610.021(13)

A motion was made by Roger Davis, seconded by Mary Shannon, to enter closed session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters and employee performance. The motion passed by roll call vote:

Howard Lotven – YES Mary Shannon – YES Roger Davis – YES Keith Curnutt – YES

The commission entered closed session at 5:48 pm.

A motion was made by Roger Davis, seconded by Keith Curnutt, to resume open session. The motion passed by roll call vote:

Howard Lotven – YES Mary Shannon – YES Roger Davis – YES Keith Curnutt – YES

The commission reentered open session at 6:16 pm.

10. Adjournment

A motion was made by Mary Shannon, seconded by Roger Davis, to adjourn. The motion passed by voice vote. The meeting was adjourned at 6:20 pm.