Show All Answers
To discuss the valuation, call the appropriate unit in which your property is classified:
Residential Assessment Department: 816-881-4661
Commercial Assessment Department: 816-881-3074
Business Personal Property: 816-881-4672
Subsequently, to contest call the office of the Board of Equalization at 816-881-3309
The deadline to file an appeal with the Board of Equalization is the 3rd Monday in June per Missouri Statutes unless extended by the Board.
Please contact the Missouri State Tax Commission https://stc.mo.gov
Contact the Board of Equalization 816-881-3309 for direction regarding the appeal process.
If no one appears on your behalf at the scheduled hearing, the Board will act at their discretion to determine a fair market value based on the evidence presented which may include the County Assessor’s recommendation of value.
Hearings may begin July 1 and must end no later than the 4th Saturday in August per Missouri Statutes unless extended by the Board.
Once the appeal deadline has passed, a late appeal request to the Board must be submitted in writing for consideration. The Board will review the request and act at their discretion accordingly.
The County offers a Senior Citizen Quad Pay Program for real estate taxes. (current year only); for information call the Collections Department at 816-881-3232.
The special tax will appear on last year’s tax bill or contact the Collections Department at 816-881-3232.
An incorrect mailing address can be changed by visiting either the downtown Kansas City or Historic Truman Courthouses or go online and complete a form.
To provide symptom-based COVID 19 testing for residents of Jackson County. This is not a health fair.
Sites will be selected by Truman Medical Centers and the Jackson County Health Department based on expected risk of COVID 19. Testing sites will be publicized and open to all residents of Jackson County MO.
Patients experiencing symptoms should call 816-404-CARE to pre-register with TMC’s COVID 19 Navigators. Navigators will communicate pre-registered patients’ information to the testing sites.
Patients who have symptoms will drive through the test site, and be tested as they remain in the car. Experienced testing staff will be provided by TMC Lakewood and will work from a mobile testing bus. Operational and directional signage will be provided. Bilingual staff will be available.
15 to 20 tests per hour can be administered. Test results will be communicated to patients within 3 days, positive or negative. Patients will be provided with information about COVID 19, and provided access to the TMC patient portal.
You may obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt for free online. You may also obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt from our offices. There is a $1 fee for each duplicate receipt. To obtain your property tax receipt, visit the Online Payment Program.
The Collection Department provides daily updated records of paid personal property tax information to the Missouri Department of Revenue; however, Missouri law still requires the taxpayer take his or her personal property receipts with him or her to the Department of Revenue license office when registering or renewing a vehicle registration.
The new owner is responsible for the taxes on the property regardless if a tax bill is received. If you are a new owner and have not received a tax bill by December 10, please contact the Collector’s Office immediately for further instruction. Contact the Collector's Office
A shift to Phase I will be considered with observable progress on the following four criteria: (1) the number of new cases has declined for at least 14 days; (2) rapid diagnostic testing capacity is sufficient to test, at minimum, all people with COVID-19 symptoms, as well as close contacts and those in essential roles; (3) the healthcare system is able to safely care for all patients, including having appropriate personal protective equipment for healthcare workers; and (4) there is sufficient public health capacity to conduct contact tracing for all new cases and their close contacts. Enough progress on the aforementioned criteria has warranted a shift to Phase I of recovery efforts which will go into effect May 11th, 2020.
Yes, the Health Department is maintaining the same enforcement procedures as before, and the form on the website for reporting is still being accepted.
Yes, employees are included in this percentage.
The essential business list is remaining the same. Non-essential businesses are now beginning to have looser guidelines as we being to reopen.
Essential businesses that continue to operate facilities must scale down operations to their essential component only.
Requires essential businesses to develop a social distancing protocol before April 20, 2020 using the attached form.
Phase 2. The tentative date is June 1.
The State of Missouri has now doubled their capacity for testing and they will soon be allowing both symptomatic and asymptomatic testing.
Currently, "Hot Spots" are considered to be congregate living facilities that have 5 or more cases of COVID19. These outbreaks are available on the data dashboard, and information is being updated daily.
Graduations are technically considered to be large gatherings, and should follow the same guidelines, but with the confusion around the subject we thought it best to make this its own section for more clarification on the matter.
The general public has seen a decline in case percentages. Overall, there has been a slight uptake in cases, but the Health Department is tracking these cases and with most of them coming from areas of outbreak and not the general public, it has been deemed safe to move forward with the opening of Phase 2.
If the test is provided by Truman Medical Center, the patient will receive either a phone call if their test has come back "positive," or their results will be posted on their mytruehealth.org account if their test has come back "negative." Each patient should either get a phone call or be able to view their negative results within one week of being tested.
If the test is provided by DHSS or other outside services, they will have separate instructions for patients on-site on how to view their results.
No. Plans should be submitted with the maximum attendance numbers you expect. This will enable you to have just one plan per venue that can be used for multiple events.
Jackson County you may apply for a marriage license at
Historic Truman Courthouse
112 W Lexington
Independence, Missouri 64050
A marriage application will need to be completed prior to issuance of your license. The application can be completed either:
In contrast, the Medical Examiner system is a modern invention, a streamlined system for medicolegal death investigation. Medical Examiners are almost always appointed to their positions rather than elected, are always physicians, and should have specialized training in forensic pathology. The Medical Examiner system is the trend of the future in death investigation in the United States, with over half of the states using this system.
In rare circumstances, the terminology may become complex, as a Forensic Pathologist may also be the elected Coroner.
In the state of Missouri, larger urban counties operate under Medical Examiner jurisdiction, while smaller counties, by statute, operate under coroner jurisdiction. Coroners from several rural Missouri counties contract with the Jackson County Medical Examiner's Office for autopsy services when needed. Medical Examiner
The Jackson County Chief Medical Examiner and Deputy Medical Examiners are board-certified in Anatomic and Forensic Pathology. Some of our medical staff are also board-certified in other areas of pathology, such as Clinical Pathology.
Newly hired Medical Examiners must become board-certified within two years of employment.
The Jackson County Medical Examiner’s Office will retain jurisdiction for those deaths that are medical examiner cases in Jackson and Cass counties. Death certificates will be issued from the Jackson County Medical Examiner’s Office for those deaths that are medical examiner cases, including deaths from injury or who die suddenly and unexpectedly while in apparent good health, suspicious deaths, or deaths when there is no doctor to sign the death certificate. Jackson County currently provides complete forensic services to Jackson and Cass Counties under contract for death investigations, autopsy and lab testing as well as court testimony when necessary. Over 20 other Missouri counties utilize the Medical Examiner’s Office on a referral basis. Autopsies services and other tests are performed to determine cause and manner of death for these counties on a fee for service basis. The death certificates are issued by the referral county coroner/medical examiner based upon the autopsy findings. Local authorities in the referral county will conduct their own scene investigations and share their information with the Jackson County Medical Examiner’s Office.
Autopsies are performed to answer medicolegal questions that are deemed in the “public’s interest" or to address a question of law. However, we recognize that an individual's religious or personal beliefs may be contrary to the performance of an autopsy. In the event of a homicide or suspicious circumstances of death, the Medical Examiner WILL perform an autopsy. If the death is not a homicide, the Jackson County Medical Examiner's Office is open to discussion to try to accommodate the families wishes while still meeting our mission and fulfilling the legal obligation presented by an individual's death. If a family wishes for an autopsy not to be performed, they may request so by phone with the on-duty investigator at 816-881-6600.
No, you may mail your payment (payable to Jackson County Collector), pay in person at one of the County’s Collection Department Offices or our satellite offices, or you may also pay your property taxes on-line through the internet 24 hours a day. Please note that the online payment website will close at 11 p.m., December 31.
The Jackson County Courthouse is located at: 415 E 12th Street Suite 100 Kansas City, MO 64106
The Historic Truman Courthouse is located at: 112 W Lexington Suite 114 Independence, MO 64050
Both courthouses are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays observed by Jackson County.
To make an online payment, visit our Online Payment Program.
If you were assessed and paid taxes in Jackson County for the prior two years, you need the prior two years’ receipts. If you were assessed in another Missouri County, you should contact that county for copies of that county’s receipts. If you cannot locate your Jackson County tax receipt for the appropriate year, to reprint your Official Paid Tax Receipt visit the Online Payment Program page.
To obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt for free, visit the Online Payment Program page.
If you have current paid property tax receipts or a tax waiver from your previous county for the last two years, you will take these along with the other required information, such as titles/application for title, vehicle registrations or renewals, to the Department of Revenue branch office. However, it is important that you contact the Jackson County Assessment Department by calling 816-881-1330, and let them know you are now a resident of Jackson County and need to be placed on the tax rolls. You can learn more from the Assessment Department.
All persons over the age of five, including employees or visitors, present at any business, public accommodation, or outdoors where social distancing is not possible must wear a face mask or covering.
When in a public indoor space (including a workplace, business, school, place of worship, or public facility such as a community center or library) individuals are required to wear a mask covering the nose and mouth
When in a public outdoor space or when using public transportation, taxis or ride-sharing services individuals are required to wear a mask covering the nose and mouth.
The following individuals are exempt from the requirement to wear a face covering:
Businesses shall deny entry to and refuse to serve members of the public who refuse to wear face coverings, unless a medical exemption applies or the individual is a child under the age of five. A business shall neither require the individual to produce medical documentation verifying a medical condition or disability, nor ask about the nature of a medical condition or disability. Businesses are encouraged to offer members of the public alternatives to in-person shopping such as curbside pickup and delivery.
Individuals who are engaged in high intensity activities, like running, may not be able to wear a cloth face covering if it causes difficulty breathing. Youth are not required to wear masks while actively engaged in sports, but should wear a mask at all other times, such as while on the sidelines.
If unable to wear a cloth face covering, consider conducting the activity in a location with greater ventilation and air exchange, (for instance, outdoors versus indoors) and where it is possible to maintain physical distance from others.
If individuals are dry (meaning the mask is not going to get wet) and around other people on the deck, they should wear a mask. If they can absolutely guarantee six feet of social distancing and that someone is not going to walk by within six feet of them, they can take it off.
Masks do not have to be worn inside pools or inside the play areas of splash pads. Social distancing should be maintained in pools and splash pads especially when masks are off. Once an individual is dried off, the mask must be put back on.
Masks are also required when in a public outdoor space or when using public transportation, taxis or ride-sharing services individuals are required to wear a mask covering the nose and mouth.
All persons inside a church must wear a mask while maintaining social distancing. This includes the congregation and the choir. Pastors may remove their mask while they are giving their sermon if they are on the stage by themself and the congregation is 10 feet away from the stage. If someone else comes on the stage, the pastor will need to put on a mask.
When you enter a business, you may be asked, “Are you unable to wear a mask because of a disability?” If your answer is yes, the business may refuse you entry, but they must work with you to provide reasonable accommodation, which may include curbside pickup, home delivery, or shipping of items.
If you offer documentation to the business indicating it is not safe for you to wear a mask due to a medical condition, the businesses shall work with you to provide a reasonable accommodation as described before. Employees may not inquire about the specific condition.
Masks should be worn inside the gym, except when engaged in vigorous activities. Individuals who are engaged in high intensity activities, like running, may not be able to wear a cloth face covering if it causes difficulty breathing. If unable to wear a cloth face covering, consider conducting the activity in a location with greater ventilation and air exchange, (for instance, outdoors versus indoors) and where it is possible to maintain physical distance from others. If the mask is removed during vigorous activity, social distancing must be strictly maintained.
Yes. Masks need to be worn in all indoor spaces that aren’t a private residence at all times regardless of distance. The only exception to this is if you’re in an enclosed office at your place of employment.
You can submit a complaint through our form here: https://form.jotform.com/200893915181155
Businesses and employers can refuse entry to someone who refuses to wear a mask without a medical exemption.
Real Estate located in Jackson County, irrespective of location, can be recorded at the
Recorder of Deeds Department
Independence, MO 64050
Important Note: The Recorder of Deeds processes its mail at the department’s Independence office. Please send all documents for recording to the Independence address listed here.
Our real estate records date back to 1826 and copies of these documents are available to the public at either courthouse location. Documents may be filed in person or they may be mailed with your check.
Real property is reassessed every odd-numbered year (2017, 2019, 2021, etc.) Personal property is assessed every year.
Contact the exemption unit at 816-881-3483 for Real Estate. They will send an application to the taxpayer.
You should determine what you believe to be the value of your property and gather evidence to support that value. Present all such evidence to the Assessment Department through the online Informal Review application or through email after you’ve spoken to an Assessment Department representative at 816-881-4601. Such evidence could include photographs, the recent sale of your property and/or a recent appraisal of your property. Documents might include a recent appraisal, sale contract, closing statement, photos, estimate for repairs, a statement of construction cost (if recently built) and/or comparable sales (if recently bought/sold). As part of the initial Informal Review process you should be prepared to electronically transmit all such documents to the Assessment Department.Please view
The final tax levies are normally set during August. The final taxes due for your property cannot be determined until the rates have been set by all of the local governments that tax your property.
Learn about when your taxes are due on the County Collector's webpage.
Telephones are staffed during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays observed by Jackson County).
The Senior Citizen Quad Payment Program gives Jackson County seniors the option to spread payment of their County real estate tax bills over four equal installments - without interest or penalties applying. The installments are due December 31 of the tax year and then February 28, May 31 and August 31 of the following year. Missouri Department of Revenue Website
Parks are open, as well as park facilities. However, playgrounds on park grounds will remain closed because of the amount of interaction that goes along with them.
Currently, pools are to remain closed through Phase 1. There is a separate committee evaluating the spread of COVID19 in these areas, and further information will be shared on that soon.
Gyms/fitness centers follow the 25/10% capacity guidelines. Dance studios, gymnastic gyms and martial arts fall under gyms/fitness centers.
*Youth sports and practices are not permitted in phase 1.
Phase 2, as long as they adhere to County provided limits.
Tournaments will not yet be allowed in Phase 2, only regular league play is permitted.
Patio seating guidelines are the same as those of restaurants.
Restaurants and other establishments can serve customers provided they follow appropriate hygienic and preventative measures.
They are under the same protocol and should be treated the same as other non-essential businesses.
So long as restaurants are cleaning these items between parties they can remain on tables for use.
Corridor planning and design will focus on preservation of the national rail network corridor’s integrity, most notably the railroad corridor’s unencumbered continuity, and on multi-modal transportation options as the corridor remains available for freight service.
The county expects to begin shared use path construction in 2017 to be completed by late 2018 or early 2019.
Estimates for the shared use path are about $1 million per mile, or $18 million. Jackson County already has $10 million in federal funds set aside and a $2.5 million dollar local match.
Yes, eventually. The Rock Island State Park connecting the Katy Trail from Windsor to Pleasant Hill opened in December of 2016. Between Pleasant Hill and the end of our corridor is an area called the Greenwood Connector, this is between 5 and 11 miles depending on the chosen route. Discussions and plans are underway with various partners on closing this gap.
Cash, Personal check, cashier's check, bank draft, money order, are accepted at the Collections Department Offices and by mail (except cash). Please do not send cash through the mail. One check may be written for multiple bills of personal property and real estate, if the total of the bills are added correctly. Mailed payments must be postmarked by the United States Postal Service no later than December 31. Payments postmarked after that date will be assessed interest and penalties.
Notice: The Jackson County Courthouse and the Historic Truman Courthouse are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays observed by Jackson County.
On December 31, a drop box for property tax payments will be located at the west door of the Jackson County Courthouse in Kansas City (415 E 12th Street) and at the front door of the Truman Courthouse in Independence (112 W Lexington Ave). Both drop boxes will close at midnight. Do not place cash in either drop box. To review your account or print your Official Paid Tax Receipt, visit the Tax Payment page.
You can also pay your quad installment payments through Jackson County's online system here.
Failure to pay any installment in the time and manner provided shall cause a senior to be removed from the quad payment program and will result in interest and penalties being charged retroactively back to the first day of January of the year following the initial billing of the real estate taxes as if the senior had never been in the quad pay program and had simply paid late on their taxes.
Once removed from the quad pay program for failure to make a timely quad installment payment, a senior taxpayer may not be allowed to rejoin the quad pay plan for the purpose of completing the installments still due for the most recent tax year. However, any eligible senior will be allowed to rejoin the quad installment plan for future tax years after completing a new senior quad pay application as long as all prior year taxes are paid and not delinquent.
This is a critical intervention to reduce harm from the spread of the coronavirus in our community. This is a mandatory order enforceable by a fine or jail.
The health officers of four regional jurisdictions are responding to quickly mounting cases and serious illnesses across the region.
Now is the time to do everything we can to prevent the situation from getting much worse in a matter of days or weeks. Every hour counts. We need and appreciate the cooperation of everyone who lives and works in Jackson County to act immediately.
While this news may feel alarming, it is a necessary step to prevent a worsening situation. The patterns of the virus around the world, and in our own state, tell us that moving right now to maximize social distancing and restrict people gathering is the best way to fight the virus and save lives.
If everyone works together, we should be able to adjust to the new rules over the next few weeks.
We know that there will be a lot of questions and concerns at the beginning of this new regimen. This is a major change being taken to protect public health. Please be patient and kind to one another. Together, we will get through this, and our community’s health will be protected.
These essential services will remain open:
Essential Businesses and Operations:
Examples of non-essential businesses include:
Jackson County Executive, Frank White, Jr. announced Friday, May 1 that the Stay-At-Home order for Jackson County will be ending at 12:01 a.m. on May 11, 2020. This announcement is being done in full coordination with Johnson and Wyandotte Counties. The County will release the phase 1 plan next week so business can start to prepare to open with guidelines.
We want to be sure the Order is in place for only as long as necessary, and the Health Officer will be closely monitoring the situation every day in order to determine what adjustments make sense.
It is mandatory. You are required to comply, and it is a misdemeanor crime not to follow the order (although the intent is not for anyone to get into trouble).
It is critical for everyone to follow the Order to prevent the spread of COVID-19 and protect themselves, their loved ones, friends, neighbors and the whole community.
All persons, businesses, and other entities are required to comply if they do not fall within the exemptions that are specified in the Order.
This is in effect for all of Jackson County Missouri.
You can still get your health needs addressed. Contact your health care provider to see if they are providing regular services. Some services, especially elective procedures, may be postponed or canceled.
If you are feeling sick, please first call your doctor, a nurse hotline, or an urgent care center.
Do not go to the emergency room of a hospital unless you are having an actual emergency.
Badges and letters are not needed. It’s not our intent at this time for people to be cited by law enforcement as they move around the county or metro. We want to assume people’s good intention that they will follow the order and will be out of their homes for permitted reasons. We do encourage people to stay at home unless they need to perform an essential service or have a job with an essential service or business that cannot be done from home. We encourage everyone who can to work from home and encourage businesses to allow for that as much as possible.
Yes. The mail and other delivery services to your home can continue to function, as can food delivery services.
Yes, you can place more orders from online stores. Delivery businesses that deliver goods or services directly to residences are essential businesses that may continue to operate.
Yes, but only for essential travel.
Do your best to take social distancing precautions: cover your mouth and nose if you cough or sneeze, use hand sanitizer and wash your hands before and after rides, etc.
Yes, but only for essential travel.
Public transit will continue to operate on a limited basis. When using public transport, you should maintain at least 6 feet, two to three steps away, including if you are on the bus or on the streetcar.
You want to help everyone be able to practice social distancing. Therefore, it’s important to only take public transportation for essential activities.
Yes. Drug stores and other medical supply stores can operate. When possible, you should have the drug store deliver your prescription medicine to your home.
The Order specifically allows people to leave their home to buy food, purchase medicine, and purchase other necessary items. It also directs businesses selling those items to remain open and allows employees of those businesses to keep working and to ensure those businesses are operating.
No. You will continue to be able to purchase these items whenever you need them, as stores selling necessary items like grocery stores, pharmacies, and hardware stores will remain open.
Continue to buy normal quantities of these items on the same schedule you normally do. This will ensure that there is enough for everyone.
Yes. Be sure that you protect them and you by following social distancing guidelines such as washing hands before and after, using hand sanitizer, maintaining at least 6 feet of distance when possible, and coughing or sneezing into a tissue.
It is strongly recommended that you do not go to a hospital unless you are seeking emergency medical attention or accompanying a minor who is under 18 years old or someone who is developmentally disabled and needs assistance.
Please use alternative ways to communicate with loved ones at nursing homes and residential care facilities. Like facetime and texting. The residents at those locations are the most vulnerable to COVID-19.
If you need to know more, please contact the facility you want to visit by phone before you leave.
This is difficult, but it is necessary in order to protect hospital staff and other patients.
If possible, walk or drive yourself to the healthcare. If someone else in your home is sick and can drop you off, that is another good option. You want to try to avoid exposing others to any germs you have, especially if you are seriously ill.
If you have Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) like a surgical mask or N-95 mask, you can wear that to prevent exposing others. If you don’t have that, you could use a temporary method such as wrapping a clean scarf around your mouth and nose to try to reduce droplets when you cough and sneeze.
Although this is not an approved method, it is something you can do to avoid exposing others. Just do the best you can.
Please contact friends, family, or others you know who can provide support. They are permitted to pick up any of your needs.
Yes, but perform good hygiene practices and social distancing.
Yes, but perform social distancing.
We are focused on voluntary compliance. Community has been tremendous in doing so thus far.
The Health Director, working in coordination with Environmental Health and the County Sheriff’s office has the authority to protect the community and make decisions regarding individual restaurants, establishments, and businesses. To report a restaurant, establishment, or business that you feel is not in compliance with the recent order please contact us:Jackson County Health Department Hotline: 816-404-9883Email Us: COVID19@tmcmed.orgOnline Form: https://form.jotform.com/200574798421056
Questions for Jackson County e-mail : Coronavirusinfo@jacksongov.org
No. Places of worship have not been exempted as essential activities under the order. Places of worship can still provide services listed in the order as essential such as food banks and funerals. The order prohibits all public and private gatherings of any number of people occurring outside a household or living unit.
Hospitals and medical facilities are exempted from the Order. You are free to go there and get medical attention.
If you don’t fall within an exception, besides performing basic minimum functions, you need to close.
There is effort on the federal level to grant relief to small businesses. https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/6201/text
You will have to work with the host of your event to see if the event is rescheduled or your money will be refunded.
The courts are under the jurisdiction of the State of Missouri. Please call the number on your jury service form for instructions as to whether you should appear. If required to appear, practice strong hygiene and social distancing.
Travel to and from Jackson County is allowed for purposes of performing essential life functions. If you work in a county that is not implementing similar restrictions and are required to go for work, please practice strong hygiene and social distancing while at work and comply with the order while in Jackson County.
Yes, when providing rides for essential activities or providing rides to people performing essential government functions, essential infrastructure or essential business.
We recommend (not require) the following:
No. The order prohibits all public and private gatherings of any number of people occurring outside a household or living unit.
Yes, they can continue to employ people and maintain operations. We consider cemeteries an essential infrastructure. However, please implement social distancing.
The order prohibits all public and private gatherings of any number of people occurring outside a household or living unit.
Yes, but have the food to go (not a buffet) and implement good hygiene and social distancing practices.
Yes, you can go to a laundromat and other laundry service providers.
People who are experiencing homelessness are encouraged to try to stay with family or friends, identify housing options, or access emergency resources such as shelter.
Non-essential businesses can continue operations that can be conducted from employees’ homes or places of rest.They can also continue minimum necessary activities to maintain the value of the business’s inventory and facilities and to ensure security, process payroll and employee benefits, or for related functions, as well as minimum necessary activities to facilitate employees of the business being able to continue to work remotely from their residences or places of rest, provided social distancing is maintained. Any operations that do not meet these requirements must be ceased.
Currently guidance is available on a general (industry) basis and not a case by case (specific business) basis. We encourage all business owners to review the order in its entirety if they believe there is ambiguity about whether they qualify as essential or not.
Golf Courses can remain open for golf, the clubhouse needs to be closed and on the course golfers need to practice social distancing.
Yes. All those activities are allowed under Jackson County’s order if you follow the CDC guidance of social distancing. Parks and outdoor spaces are open. However, playgrounds, shelters and ball fields are closed at this time. (Shelters should reopen with Phase 2, playgrounds and ball fields with Phase 3.)
If working outside and can keep social distancing and 10 or less rule. If inside keep staffing to a minimum and respect social distancing.
Yes. This activity is allowed under Jackson County’s order if you follow the CDC guidance of social distancing.
Yes, businesses that distribute food or drink are classified as essential. We encourage the maintenance of social distancing to the extent feasible in all cases.
Tax bills will be mailed between Veteran’s Day and Thanksgiving. Bills should be received by December 1.
Under state law taxes are due upon receipt of the tax bill but no later than December 31. Interest, penalties and fees will accrue if payment is late.
For payments made by mail to be on time, the U.S. postal service postmark date must be December 31 or earlier. If mailing on the final day, contact the Post Office to determine the office hours for mail postmark to ensure your mailed payment is timely made. Payments placed in Post Office mail drop boxes do not always receive the same day postmark. The Department of Collection highly recommends mailing several days before the December 31 deadline. For questions related to pending BOE appeals, see more information below.
The Department of Collection mails tax bills during November. If a tax bill is not received by December 10th, contact the Collector's Office at 816-881-3232 or check your account online. You can check the amount due and pay the bill at any time online at payments.jacksongov.org.
Failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve the obligation to pay taxes. Taxes not paid in full on or before December 31 will accrue interest, penalties and fees.
Telephones are staffed during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays observed by Jackson County).
Make any check or money order payable to: Jackson County Collector and include your PROPERTY ACCOUNT NUMBER on the document. If mailing, please include the remittance. To be timely paid, all payments must be USPS postmarked by December 31.
The Jackson County Courthouse in Kansas City and the Historic Truman Courthouse in Independence are open 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays observed by Jackson County. Visit www.jacksongov.org/collections for a list of holidays observed by Jackson County.
For your convenience, the Historic Truman Courthouse on the Independence Square will be open on Saturdays, December 14th, 21st, and 28th, from 8:00 A.M. to 12:00 P.M. (noon).
On Saturday, December 28, 2019 through Tuesday, December 31, 2019 a drop box for property tax payments will be located at the west door of the Jackson County Courthouse in Kansas City (415 E. 12th St.) and at the south door of the Historic Truman Courthouse in Independence (112 W. Lexington). Both drop boxes will close at midnight on December 31, 2019. Do not place cash in either drop box.
Please bring the entire bill and your form of payment. If you do not have your bill, a bill can be printed for you, but this does create some additional wait time.
Online: You can find your receipt through the dashboard on your PayIt app. You can also find it by going to www.jacksongov.org/collection and clicking on “find property tax receipt” in the blue box on the left hand side.
Mail: If you mailed in a payment, your receipt will be mailed to you after the first of the year. Your receipt will also be available online via the directions listed above as soon as the payment is received and entered. Entry of mailed payments takes longer near the end of the year.
In person: Any time throughout the year you can get a duplicate copy of your receipt by coming in person. The cost for a duplicate receipt is $1. The use of online receipts is highly encouraged during the end of the year due to the significant wait time.
Taxes are a lien against the real estate and remains with the property, not the specific owner of that property. When property ownership changes, the new owner is liable for any unpaid real estate property taxes due.
The new owner/buyer has the responsibility for paying the total tax bill by December 31.Generally, taxes are prorated between the buyer and seller. If this is being done, a proportionate amount of the estimated tax amount is credited to the buyer at the time of sale based on the number of months/days the seller owned the property during the tax year. If the buyer receives extra money at closing or loan settlement, it is recommended the buyer verify if those funds are for the payment of future taxes.
Generally, no money is paid to the Collector for taxes at the time of sale. However, a closing company as part of the sales transaction may pay any taxes currently due if known. You will have real estate property taxes to pay each year you own the property. Taxes are levied annually and due upon receipt.
A tax bill may be generated in the previous owner's (seller's) name and mailed to their mailing address unless the purchaser advises the Jackson County Assessor's office of the change in property ownership and mailing address. If you do not receive a real estate tax bill from the Jackson County Collector by December 10, contact the Collector's office.
Review your contract to see if you are obligated to pay the taxes or if the mortgage company collects an escrow and pays the bill for you. If the mortgage company pays the bill for you from an escrow account, forward the bill to them.
Each mortgage company submits an annual request to Jackson County for copies of the real estate bills that they plan to pay for that tax year. The Department of Collection bills the mortgage companies based on what accounts they request. Due to the constant buying and selling of mortgages in today’s economy, sometimes the tax bill is sent to the wrong company.
Mortgage companies typically pay tax bills in December and adjust your monthly payment for any changes needed. Call your mortgage company for specific answers.
At the election held on August 3, 1982, the voters of Missouri approved the amended provisions of section 6 of article X of the Missouri Constitution. The effective date for the amended provisions of section 6 of article X was January 1, 1985. You can read more on the Commercial Surcharge page at www.jacksongov.org/Collection.
The amount stated on your bill is due in full on or before December 31. However, if you have an appeal resolved prior to the end of the year and your value is reduced, we can recalculate the account and generate a new bill as soon as the Board of Equalization and Department of Assessment enter your corrected value. That new amount can be paid online if paid by December 31, by mail, or in person.
If you have an appeal resolved after the beginning of the year and your value is reduced, then the amount on your current bill is due on December 31 and a refund of any excess payment will be issued. You do not need to pay under protest to receive a refund based on a value change. We do accept partial payments on real property, but interest, penalties, and fees will accrue on any unpaid amount due if not paid on or before December 31. Partial payments cannot be made online.
If a stipulated agreement was not received by the Assessment Department prior to the generation of bills in October, the bill will not reflect that agreement. As soon as the Assessment Department receives the stipulation and changes the value in our tax software, the Department of Collection will generate a new bill and mail it to you. Once a new bill is generated, it can be paid online if paid by December 31, in person, or by mail. If you do not provide the stipulated agreement to the Assessment Department until after the end of the year, then the full amount due on the initial bill will still be required and a refund will be generated.
State statute requires that all taxes due be paid on or before December 31. If the taxes due on December 31 are not paid in full, you will be subject to interest, penalties, and fees on any amount not paid by that date.
Any taxpayer who prevails on an appeal of value, but has not made any tax payment for the year in question, will still be responsible for interest, penalties, and fees, but only based on the amount of the property valuation determined by the appeal, and not based on the county’s original valuation.
State law requires tax bills be paid by 12/31. If full payment is not made by the due date, interest, penalties, and fees will apply until full payment is made. Any taxpayer who prevails on an appeal of value, but has not made a full tax payment for the year in question, will still be responsible for interest, penalties, and fees, but only based on the amount of the property valuation determined by the appeal, and not based on the county’s original valuation.
We do accept partial payment on real property taxes. This will limit the amount of interest, penalties, and fees owed. However, interest, penalties, and fees will still be owed on any difference between what is paid and what is later owed based on whatever value results from an appeal of value. It is also possible that a taxpayer would be entitled to a refund if the partial payment made is higher than the taxes due after the determination of value resulting from an appeal. Partial payments cannot be made online.
Refunds are automatically generated as a result of a value reduction. No steps need to be taken by a taxpayer to receive a refund based on a value reduction related to an informal review, BOE appeal, or STC appeal. If your bill is paid by a mortgage company, any refund amount would be returned to the mortgage company.
You do not need to pay under protest to receive a refund based on a value change. The refund
process occurs automatically. Should you choose to pay under protest, the refund can only be
generated during our release of protested funds which occurs every other month. Payments can
only be made under protest if they are made on-time and paid in full.
No. Paying under protest has no impact on a taxpayer’s right to appeal to the BOE or the STC.
You do not need to pay under protest to receive a refund based on a value change. When a mortgaged account has a reduction in value, the mortgage company will receive a second reconciliation file notifying the mortgage company of the reduction in taxes. The refund process occurs automatically. The refund will be issued to the mortgage company that paid the account. Should the taxpayer still choose to pay under protest, you will need to do so in accordance with Missouri Statute 139.031 (see below).
You do not need to pay under protest to receive a refund based on a value change. The refund process occurs automatically. Should you choose to pay under protest, the refund of protested payments can only be generated during our release of protested funds which occurs every other month. Payments can only be made under protest if they are made on-time and paid in full.
Should you still choose to pay under protest and if your taxes are paid by a mortgage company, please coordinate with your mortgage company to have them properly pay under protest in accordance with Missouri Statute 139.031 (see below). Should your mortgage company be unable to pay under protest, or refuse to do so, you can submit a proper protest to the Department of Collection so long as it is received prior to the payment being made. Any resulting refund would be paid to the mortgage company that paid the taxes.
Payments under protest must be made in accordance with Missouri Statute 139.031. The language of the statute states, in part:
Any such taxpayer desiring to pay any current taxes under protest or while paying taxes based upon a disputed assessment shall, at the time of paying such taxes, make full payment of the current tax bill before the delinquency date and file with the collector a written statement setting forth the grounds on which the protest is based. The statement shall include the true value in money claimed by the taxpayer if disputed.
Please refer to the full language of the statute for additional requirements and information. The full language of the statute can be found at https://revisor.mo.gov.
Please send payments under protest, with the corresponding bill remittance, and the corresponding letter to the address below:
Jackson County Department of Collection
415 E. 12th Street, Suite 100
Kansas City, MO 64106
The Missouri Department of Revenue offers Missouri Seniors and 100% disabled individuals a Property Tax Credit (Circuit Breaker) program. Information is available by calling 573-751-3505 or visiting the Missouri Department of Revenue website at https://dor.mo.gov/personal/ptc/.
Jackson County offers Senior Citizens a Quad Payment Program. The Senior Citizen Quad Payment Program gives Jackson County seniors the option to spread payment of their County real estate tax bills over 4 equal installments - without interest or penalties. You can read more on our website at www.jacksongov.org/Collection.
The following qualifications are required:
If you have questions, concerns, or feedback to share, please get in touch! Please send an email to email@example.com, or call at 800-268-9153.
You do not have to create an account to pay online using PayIt. To proceed without creating an account, click “continue as guest”. The benefit of creating an account is that by signing up and creating a profile, PayIt is able to pre-populate form fields and expedite the payment process on your next visit.
If you can’t find the property using the name or address search, we recommend searching using the parcel or account number which can be found on your bill. If that doesn’t work, or if you need your account number, please contact Taxpayer Services at 816-881-3232.