Jail Task Force

Jackson County Jail Task Force Background & Overview


The Jail Task Force shall complete an analysis that will make recommendations related to the potential capacity and type of jail the Jackson County community needs and deserves.


  1. To conduct an analysis of situational needs with experts in the criminal justice field.
  2. To utilize a data-driven, community-inclusive approach to reach consensus recommendations.
Jail Task Force Members
Dr. Gayle Holliday, Freedom Inc. President - Co-chair
John Fierro, President/CEO, Mattie Rhodes Center - Co-chair
Alvin Brooks, Community Member
Scott Burnett, Jackson County Legislature Chairman
Alissia Canady, KCMO City Councilwoman, 5th District
Carol Coe, Lawyer/Former County Legislator/Former City Councilwoman
Dr. Karen Curls, MCC Penn Valley Campus, Criminal Justice Professor
Niki Lee Donawa, TMC Chief Community Relations Officer
Brandon Ellington, Missouri State Representative District 22
Joseph Megerman, Deputy District Defender, Missouri Public Defender's Office
Brent Morris, Regional Director, Missouri Probation and Parole
Captain Doug Niemeir, KCPD East Patrol
Lisa Pelofsky, CEO Pelofsky & Associates
Mike Schumacher, Assistant to the City Manager KCMO
Judge John Torrence, Presiding Judge, Circuit Court Division 14
Ralph Monaco, Lawyer, Monaco, Sanders, Racine & Powell, LLC

Jail Task Force Subcommittees

Offender Housing Requirements
  • Dr. Karen Curls, Subcommittee Chair
  • Lisa Pelofsky
  • Brent Morris
  • Niki Lee Donawa
Intergovernmental Considerations
  • Alissia Canady, Subcommittee Chair
  • Brandon Ellington
  • John Torrence
  • Doug Niemeir
Population Control
  • Ralph Monaco, Subcommittee Chair
  • Scott Burnett
  • Mike Schumacher
  • Carol Coe
  • Alvin Brooks