Freedom Wall Commission

Members Appointed Term Expires
Ronald E. Finley (County Legislator - 2nd District) Jan. 30, 2019 Dec. 31, 2021
Anita Russell
Sept. 21, 2015 Sept. 21, 2021
Tyjaun Lee March 19, 2018 Sept. 21, 2021
Lisa Pelofsky Jan. 30, 2019 Sept. 21, 2021
Rev. Bob Hill Sept. 21, 2015 Sept. 21, 2021
Vernon Howard, Jr.
Sept. 21, 2015 Sept. 21, 2021
Sharon Sanders Brooks March 23, 2016 Sept. 21, 2021
Karen Slaughter March 23, 2016 Sept. 21, 2021
Marquita Taylor Jan. 30, 2019 Sept. 21, 2021


  • The commission’s purpose is to select inductees for the Freedom Wall, which will be located at 31st Street and Benton Boulevard in Kansas City, Missouri in the Leon Jordan Memorial Park. The Freedom Wall will honor those individuals who made or are making significant contributions to the Civil Rights movement in Jackson County.
  • The commission meets annually to select approximately 100 inductees each year for approximately 10 years. Inductees can be selected posthumously. The inaugural commission will create the guidelines for the selection process of inductees.
  • With the assistance of Jackson County government, the commission will plan an induction ceremony that appropriately honors inductees and or their families. The commission may decide to conduct this ceremony during Black History Month, on Memorial Day, Martin Luther King’s birthday or on any other date the Commission may choose.


  • The County Executive appoints 11 members to the commission.
  • All members must be residents of Jackson County.
  • One member must be a County Legislator.
  • All members must be business, community and/or neighborhood leaders, who possess significant knowledge about the civil rights movement and the contributions of African Americans and other minority groups to the history and development of Jackson County. 
  • The County Executive will solicit nominations to the commission from the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), the Metropolitan Organization for Racial and Economic Equity (MORE2), the Metropolitan Community Colleges, Penn Valley Campus, and neighborhood organizations within Jackson County.