Clerk of the County Legislature

The County Clerk serves under the Legislative branch of Jackson County government. Mary Jo Spino, whom the Legislature appointed Clerk on March 19, 1991, aids the Legislators in the performance of their duties and supervises the activities of others appointed to their staffs.

Legislative Meetings

As stated in the Jackson County Charter, the Clerk provides the Legislature with administrative, research and support staff services. She attends Legislative meetings, keeping a record of the proceedings and maintaining other permanent records for the County.

The Jackson County Legislature is required to hold at least 48 regular meetings each year as stated in the Charter of Jackson County, Missouri.

The first, third, fourth, and fifth Monday of the month, Legislative meetings are held at:

Kansas City Legislative Assembly Area
Jackson County Courthouse
415 E 12th Street
2nd Floor
Kansas City, Missouri, 64050

The second Monday of the month, meetings are held at:

Legislative Chamber
Eastern Jackson County Courthouse
308 W Kansas
Ground Floor
Independence, Missouri, 64050

2019 Legislative Meetings Schedule


The County Clerk also processes candidate filings for the County elected offices.

Notary Public Applications

Furthermore, the County Clerk is responsible for notary public applicants in Jackson County, Missouri. The Clerk of the County Legislature often referred to as the County Clerk has two offices at which notary public applicants can appear to pick up their commission.