Boards & Commissions

  1. Apply To Serve On A Board or Commission

    Apply to serve on a Jackson County board or commission

  2. Animal Welfare Commission

    The committee is charged with, among other things, promoting spay and neuter programs for household pets, supporting educational programs that promote the welfare and safety of animals, hearing complaints regarding abuse or cruelty to animals, and investigating charges of unethical treatment of animals.

  3. Board of Equalization

    To hear appeals and equalize the valuation and assessment of all real and tangible personal property taxable by the County.

  4. Board of Zoning Adjustment

    Board of Zoning Adjustment hear and decide appeals where it is alleged there is error of law in any order, requirement, decision or determination made by an administrative official in the enforcement of the County zoning regulations; to authorize in specific cases a variance from the specific terms of zoning regulations.

  5. Children's Services Fund Board

    The Board of Directors will oversee revenues and administrate funds from the Children’s Services Fund. The fund will support social service agencies that help youths in need 19 years old and younger. The funds raised within Jackson County will stay in Jackson County. They’ll go to support programs and services that will benefit tens of thousands of children who are homeless, experiencing domestic violence, in foster care or suffering from abuse and neglect.

  6. Community Mental Health Fund Board

    The Community Mental Health Fund Board provides administrative control and management of the Community Mental Health Fund.

  7. Developmental Disability Services - EITAS

    To administer funds generated by the Sheltered Workshop Levy authorized pursuant to Section 205.971 Missouri Revised Statutes.

  8. Domestic Violence Shelters

    The purpose of the Domestic Violence Shelters is to administer the fees collected pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 87 of the Jackson County Code and Section 488.445 of the Missouri Revised Statutes.

  9. Drug Commission

    Overseeing the Community Backed Anti-Drug Sales Tax (COMBAT) program.

  10. Economic Development Authority

    The Economic Development Authority acts as a liaison between the county, the community and industry for the advancement of economic development in Jackson County.

  11. Ethics, Human Relations & Citizen Complaints

    The revised Jackson County Charter that voters approved in August of 2010 requires forming the Ethics, Human Relations and Citizen Complaints Commission.

  12. Freedom Memorial Wall Commission

    The commission’s purpose is to select inductees for the Freedom Memorial Wall, which will be located at 31st Street and Benton Boulevard in Kansas City, Missouri.

  13. Housing Resources Commission

    To allocate and disburse the County Homeless Assistance Fund collected and appropriated subject pursuant to the Jackson County Code, Sections 9054-9057, and subject to the approval of the County Legislature.

  14. Jane Fifield Flynn Historic Resources

    Jane Fifield Flynn Historic Resources is to identify, evaluate and preserve the historic, archaeological, cultural and architectural resources owned by the County.

  15. Land Trust of Jackson County

    To manage a "public corporation acting in a governmental capacity."

  16. Merit System

    Review operation of the County employee merit system and recommend policies for its operation. Also, hears and decides appeals and disciplinary actions.

  17. Mid-Continent Library

    Govern the Mid-Continent Public Library district composed of Jackson, Clay and Platte counties

  18. Pension Plan Board of Trustees

    The purpose of the Pension Plan Board of Trustees is to establish rules, and to interpret and administer the County's pension plan.

  19. Plan Commission

    To provide for the preparation, adoption, amendment, extension or carrying out of a County plan.

  20. Public Building Corporation

    Public Building Corporation provides the acquisition, construction, improvement, extension, repair, remodeling, renovation and financing of public sites, buildings, facilities, furnishings and equipment for the use of the County.

  21. Sports Complex Authority

    The Sports Complex Authority is there to administer and maintain leasing of the County Sports Complex, featuring Arrowhead and Kauffman stadiums.

  22. Stormwater Commission

    The Stormwater Commission develop recommendations, provide advice to the County Executive and Legislature, and coordinate efforts on stormwater management issues and projects through the County.

  23. Truman Medical Center

    The purpose of Truman Medical Center is to accessible, state-of-the-art quality healthcare to our community regardless of the ability to pay.